People

Principal Investigator

Pengfei Song, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (Primary)
Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology (Full-time faculty)
Department of Bioengineering (Affiliate)
Carle Illinois College of Medicine (Affiliate)
Cancer Center at Illinois (Member)
Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine & Science
Beckman 4041 | songp@illinois.edu | (217) 300-9763

Postdoctoral Research Associates

Matthew Lowerison, PhD
Ph.D. in Medical Biophysics, University of Western Ontario
Beckman 4027 | mloweri@illinois.edu
Research: In vivo applications of super-resolution ultrasound imaging

PhD Students

Zhijie Dong, MS (ECE)
B.S. in Information Engineering, Southeast University
M.S. in Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Beckman 4031 | zhijied3@illinois.edu
Research: 3D ultrafast ultrasound imaging; 3D shear wave elastography; deep learning-based beamforming

Xi Chen (ECE)
B.S. in Computer Engineering, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Beckman 4035 | xichen30@illinois.edu
Research: Deep learning-based super-resolution ultrasound imaging

Qi You, MS (BIOE)
B.S. in Electronics Science and Engineering, Nanjing University
M.S. in Electronics and Engineering, Nanjing University
Beckman 4031 | qiyou3@illinois.edu
Research: Fast super-resolution ultrasound imaging; 3D super-resolution imaging

YiRang Shin, MS (ECE)
B.S. in Information and Communication Engineering, DGIST
M.S. in Information and Communication Engineering, DGIST
Beckman 4035 | yirangs2@illinois.edu
Research: Deep learning in ultrasound  imaging; super-resolution imaging

Yike Wang (ECE)
B.S. in Biomedical Engineering, Southern University of Science and Technology
Beckman 4035 | yikew2@illinois.edu
Research: Functional ultrasound imaging

Bing-Ze “Mark” Lin (ECE)
B.S. in Biomedical Imaging and Radiological Sciences, National Yang-Ming University
M.S. in Biomedical Imaging and Radiological Sciences, National Yang-Ming University
Beckman 4031 | bzlin2@illinois.edu
Research: Molecular super-resolution imaging, focused ultrasound

MS Students

Xiaobai Li (ECE)
B.S. in Computer Engineering, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
| xiaobai2@illinois.edu
Research: Deep learning-based ultrasound data processing

Research Staff

Senior Research Specialist
Rita Miller, DVM

Beckman 4215 | rjmille@illinois.edu | (217) 333-3133

Undergraduate researcher
Ashley Sung
asung8@illinois.edu

Undergraduate researcher
Lucia Nash
lnash4@illinois.edu

Undergraduate researcher
Erin Kinaci
ekinaci2@illinois.edu

Administrative Staff

Office manager (Beckman)
Bill Mullins
Beckman 4209 | wmullins@illinois.edu | (217) 300-1052

Alumni

  • Jihun Kim, PhD | 2021-2022, Postdoctoral Research Associate | Current position: Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering, Kangnam University
  • Wei Zhang, MD | 2019 – 2020, Postdoctoral Research Associate and Visiting Scientist | Current position: Radiologist and Associate Chief Physician, Tongji Hospital, Tongji Medical College, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
  • Huiming Yi, MD | 2019 – 2020, Visiting Scientist | Current position: Radiologist and Associate Chief Physician, Tongji Hospital, Tongji Medical College, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
  • Jake Nickel | 2021-2022, ECE undergraduate student | Current position: graduate student at University of California, Berkeley
  • Jason Pan | 2019-2020, ECE undergraduate student
  • Ben Sisserman | 2019-2020, ECE undergraduate student